Review – Ethos – Phoebe

Who wouldn’t be a bit curious to feel banana fibre in a wrap? While not an actual “silk” fibre, this wrap doesn’t have the shiny, lux feeling that one might be imagining from the silk descriptor. It’s a dense, nubby wrap, full of texture and weight.

 

_MG_3264

 

Clearly, this will be a wrap that wrappers will divide over in opinion. Either you will adore its nubby imperfect texture and heavy density, or you will find its imperfections and weight a bit overwhelming.

In hand, Phoebe is heavy. Key word for today should apparently be texture,  because if I leave any impression behind, it should be that this is a super textured wrap It feels and looks akin to a terry washcloth, super nubby and slubby. If a Pamir was mistaken at one time for a paint drop cloth, one could easily see someone unknowing assuming this was just a very substantial towel. IMG_3269

Wrapping wise, it has ridiculous support. Although quite dense and heavy, aside from my shoulders it didn’t wrap as beastly as I was expecting from its feel in hand. Knots were large, and it would be a wrap that has hits and misses as far carries due to its substanc. But it had surprising moldability in a chest pass and I didn’t have to fight with it as much as I was expecting to get my passes both snug and laying flat.

 

I’m admittedly a thin wrap lover. BHP is my machine woven jam, and I have a soft spot IMG_3230for thin moldable plain weaves akin to Shearwater. This wrap is quite outside my normal comfort zone, and I would have a hard time adding one to my stash in a long size. But that’s me, and I could see thick loving friends going quite bananas over this wrap.

 

Who would like this wrap : Texture lovers. Dense, thick fans. Toddler or large wrappee wearers will appreciate the extra support. Experienced wrappers looking for an affordable addition to their stashes.
IMG_3221
Who might want to pass on this wrap: OCD fibre junkies will have a hard time ignoring the nubs and threads. Newbies might find themselves overwhelmed with the weight and wrapping characteristics. Thin wrap lovers – not for you.
Leave a Reply

